Facebook Facebook instagram
Other Grants and Awards

Nick Estcourt Award
Although this award is aimed at British climbers, it could provide a great opportunity for an Anglo-American expedition. At least half the team needs to be British to qualify. Named for the great climber who died on K2 in 1978, the Nick Estcourt Award was established to commemorate his climbing achievements and to encourage future generations of expedition mountaineers. One annual award of $2,000 is provided to the team that the trustees consider most likely to further expedition mountaineering; applications are considered solely in terms of their mountaineering merit, and scientific and other objectives are not taken into account. Awards will not be made to expeditions with a significant commercial or military element. Deadline is December 31, and more information is available here.


Polartec Challenge Grants
Every year world-class athletes benefit from the Polartec® Challenge, an international award program encouraging the spirit and practice of outdoor adventure. From the sharp granite cliffs of Southern Africa to heights of the Himalayas, these men and women are dedicated to the pursuit of excitement and discovery. Read their accounts of these incredible once-in-a-lifetime experiences and how Polartec® helped them achieve their dreams of realizing them. Visit the Polartec website for more details.


Mugs Stump Climbing Award

From October 1 through December 15, the Mugs Stump Award will be accepting grant applications from small climbing teams with fast and light alpine objectives. Established in 1993 to honor the late alpinist Mugs Stump, the Mugs Stump Award annually awards grants to a select number of individuals and teams whose proposed climbs present an outstanding challenge—a first ascent, significant repeat, or first alpine-style ascent—with special emphasis placed on climbers leaving no trace of their passage. Sponsored by Alpinist Magazine, Black Diamond Equipment, Ltd., Mountain Gear, Patagonia, Inc., and W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc., the Mugs Stump Award once again encourages men, women and teams from North America to submit their applications for a part of this year's grant funding. More information about the award and past recipients can be found here.

Further information and applications are available at www.mugsstumpaward.com.