Facebook Facebook instagram
2011 Fall Round Mountain Fellowship Fund Award Winners Announced


2011 Fall Round Mountain Fellowship Fund Award Winners Announced

—AAC Awards $4,600 of Grants Supporting Young Climbers—

Golden, CO—The American Alpine Club’s Mountain Fellowship Committee recently announced eight selections for Fall 2010. The biannual award, begun in 1966, encourages climbers under the age of 25 to explore uncharted territory; award winners usually target unfrequented ranges, unclimbed peaks, or difficult new routes. While grants are not large enough to finance a trip entirely, the AAC hopes the money makes it possible for a few young climbers to gain experience in mountain areas that otherwise would be out of their reach.

The Mountain Fellowship Fund Selection Committee Chair, Eiichi Fukishima noted, “In this 46th year of the program, there are ten awards with amounts ranging up to $1000.  In the past two years, 34 awards were made for a total amount of $19,300.  The vast majority of awards have been for climbs in the Americas – Alaska, Canada, and South America – which represents a natural progression for up-and-coming mountaineers and for which the limited grant amounts are significant and meaningful help. “

This season, the AAC awarded $4,900 to 10 climbers attempting routes, old and new, from Argentina to Wyoming to China.

  • Justin Edberg (25) and Tyler Overby (25), $600 each for exploratory climbs and a first ascent attempt in Qionglai Range, China.
  • Rob Gonzales-Pita (23), Jordan Griffler (23), and Greg Mionske (24), $300 each from REI Challenge Fund, for a new route on Mt. Hooker, Wind Rivers, Wyoming.
  • Dan Hilden (24), $300 from Rick Mosher Fund, for several possible routes on Denali.
  • Cheyne Lempe (20), $1000 from REI Challenge Fund, for Chiro di Luna route on Aguja Saint Exupery in Patagonia.
  • Grant Simmons (24), $400 from Rick Mosher Fund, for exploratory climbs in Cochamo Valley, Chile.
  • Brad Woolf (19), $800 from John Hudson Fund, for a new route on Mt. Russell in Alaska.
  • Graham Zimmerman (25), $300 for a new route on the Southwest face of The Blade in the Waddington Range, BC.

The Club’s Mountain Fellowship Committee of Eiichi Fukushima (Chair), Yvon Chouinard, James Funsten, Kestrel Hanson, Joe LaBelle, Pete Metcalf, Travis Spitzer, and Geoff Tabin makes their selections twice a year, eight to ten weeks after the April 1 and November 1 deadlines. To learn more about the Mountain Fellowship Grants and the AAC’s other award programs, visit the AAC grants webpage.

In addition to the Mountain Fellowship Fund Awards, the AAC offers grants for everyday climbers attempting big-walls, new or notable free climbs, and alpine objectives. Of significant prominence is the Lyman Spitzer Cutting Edge Award, which offers funding to climbers pushing the limits of alpinism on new routes and significant repeats in the Greater Ranges. The annual application deadline for the Lyman Spitzer Grant is December 1st. A committee of three active climbers reviews the applications, selects the recipients, and decides on award amounts. For more details and specific application information for this and other AAC grants visit The American Alpine Club’s website.

About The American Alpine Club
The American Alpine Club provides knowledge and inspiration, conservation and advocacy, and logistical support for the climbing community. The AAC advocates for American climbers domestically and around the world; provides grants and volunteer opportunities to protect and conserve the places we climb; hosts local and national climbing festivals and events; publishes two of the world’s most sought-after climbing annuals, The American Alpine Journal and Accidents in North American Mountaineering; cares for the world’s leading climbing library and country’s leading mountaineering museum; manages the Grand Teton Climbers’ Ranch as part of a larger lodging network for climbers; and annually gives $80,000+ toward climbing, conservation, and research grants to adventurers who travel the world. Learn about additional programs and become a member at americanalpineclub.org. Join the AAC’s online community at facebook.com/americanalpineclub.