David R. Brower Award Winners

David R. Brower, alpinist and member of the famed 10th Mountain Division with over seventy first ascents from Shiprock to the Sierra Nevada, was a pioneer in the environmental movement in this country and abroad. He was twice nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize for his work in conservation. Brower was a lifetime member of the AAC and served as the organization's Vice President from 1956-58. He was the first Executive Director of the Sierra Club, founder of Friends of the Earth, and served as Chairman of Earth Island Institute. His commitment to conservation contributed substantially to the establishment of sound global environmental practices. The David R.Brower Award, created in 1991, is an annual award recognizing leadership and commitment to conservation and the preservation of mountain regions worldwide. The awardee, whose active personal role deserves public recognition, has made an important difference as a pathfinder, innovator and contributor who has motivated others to take action.

Sally Jewell: 2018                                                                                                                                                                          Kris McDivitt Tompkins: 2017
John Jarvis: 2016
Ken Yager: 2015
James Balog: 2014
Ellen Lapham: 2013
Laura and Guy Waterman: 2012
John Stannard: 2012
Tom Frost: 2011
Conrad Anker: 2010
Lonnie and Ellen Thompson: 2009
Doug Tompkins: 2008
Yvon Chouinard: 2007
Dr. Alton C. Byers: 2006
Steve Davis: 2005
Michael J. Lewis: 2004
Lloyd Athearn: 2003
Rick Thompson: 2000
Roger Robinson: 1999
Greg Mortenson: 1998
Louis F. Reichardt: 1997
Michael G. Hall: 1996
Eve Tallman: 1995
Mark Hesse: 1995
Chris Naumann: 1994
Rob Hess: 1994
Steve Goryl: 1994
Steve Gipe: 1994
Scott Fischer: 1994
Brent Bishop Awarded: 1994
The CMC Conservation Committee: 1993
John Hart: 1992
Robert M. McConnell: 1991