Angelo Heilprin Citation Award Winners

It was through the dedicated efforts of Angelo Heilprin that The American Alpine Club was founded. In May 1901, he and twelve others met in Philadelphia to draft the objects of the proposed association. In March 1902, the AAC was formally organized; Angelo Heilprin was elected the first Vice President of the Club. The Angelo Heilprin Citation was established by the American Alpine Club in 1976. It is awarded annually to that person who has, in the opinion of the citation committee, shown exemplary service to the club. It is specifically understood that service to the club itself can be differentiated from outstanding mountaineering accomplishment or service through the club to the climbing community. The purpose of this citation is to recognize those who have worked to maintain and strengthen the organization and thus further its ability to serve its fundamental purposes. The selection committee is appointed annually by the president and is charged with preparing an appropriate presentation at the Annual Dinner.


Ellen Lapham: 2018

David Riggs: 2017

Jim Donini: 2016

Cody Smith: 2015

Robert Hall: 2014

William Fetterhoff: 2013

Bruce Franks: 2012

Phil Powers: 2012

Bob Craig: 2011

Mark Richey: 2010

Charlie Sassara: 2009

James F. Henriot: 2008

Doug Colwell: 2007

Bill Atkinson: 2006

Virginia Boucher: 2005

Greg Sievers: 2004

Linda McMillan: 2003

Louis F. Reichardt: 2002

No Meeting: 2001

Eliza P. Moran: 2000

Verne Reed: 1999

Glenn E. Porzak: 1998

George Ross Sainsbury: 1997

Edward Everett Vaill: 1996

Michael Foley Browning: 1995

Theodore Paul (Sam) Streibert: 1994

Ann Carter: 1993

James Dell Morrissey: 1992

Philip Erard: 1991

John E. (Jed) Williamson: 1990

Armando M. Menocal III: 1988

Andrew John Kauffman: 1988

James P. McCarthy: 1987

John L. J. Hart: 1986

Henry S. Hall Jr: 1985

Robert H. Bates: 1984

John & Ruth Mendenhall: 1983

Kenneth A. Henderson: 1982

Horst Von Hennig: 1981

William Lowell Putnam: 1980

Charles S. Houston M.D.: 1979

Nicholas B. Clinch: 1978

H. Adams Carter: 1977

Raffi Bedayn: 1976